Giving Fashion Advice – 2

Image 

I’ve been putting a lot of thought into the topic of whether or not to approach someone regarding their fashion sense (see my previous post). Something really great happened to me last night, which has given me new insight.

I had had a long day when a friend of mine invited me out for karaoke. I wanted to be a bit more comfortable than I had been the rest of the day, so I slipped into my favorite pair of Tom’s. The night was wonderful, we danced and sang wildly. A stranger paid for my drinks, even. As we were leaving the bar, a man stopped me and said “I just wanted to let you know that you are beautiful and sexy; and if you wore high heels you would be even better!” I had to take a minute to think about this. Was I angry or flattered? With topics like this, it’s all about the delivery. He started off with a very flattering compliment that was never negated with a “but”. He said everything right, so I was definitely not angry. 

I took his opinion into consideration when I woke up today. Did I put on my highest heels to impress the world? No. I am the way that I am, and no one has the right to change me. It’s nice to know what I could do if I was looking to impress someone. But until that day comes, I’ll stick to being me. 

Leave a Reply

