On Eating Healthy and Exercise

ImageIt’s no surprise that I like food. I love to cook and more importantly, I love indulging in the experience of a rich, delectable creation that will send my synapses into overdrive. If you have ever read America’s Test Kitchen, you will know that most of their recipes will say “We tried this with heavy cream, and we loved it!” 

It shouldn’t surprise you that I have put on ten pounds since Christmas. I work in an office setting where home baked goods are plentiful. My days are particularly sedentary as I sit in front of a computer. I make an honest effort to keep my extra curricular activities as active as possible. They include three nights a week of dance, one night of volleyball and an evening of aerobics. I was hoping that this would be enough to keep my weight gain under control. Alas, something else needs to change. 

Today is Day 1 of a new daytime eating routine. Low carb, heavy on the fruits/veggies and protein. I’m also trying to cut back on snacking. I feel like It’s going to take an entire team to keep me on track. Especially while at work! I’m hoping to not just cut calories, but to make generally more nutritious choices. Leaner meats, more vegetables, the right kind of carbs (and drastically fewer of them) and I’m sad to report, less cheese. I am going to attempt this for three weeks. I am hoping that it will not only help get my body back under control, but it will help me get back into some good habits. 

I have a wedding, a photo shoot and a dance workshop coming up this month. I want to look and feel my best for them! If you have any tips, words of encouragement or friendly reminders to keep me on track, I’ll take them! 

More importantly, I’ll keep you posted on my progress. 

Leave a Reply

